Board Of Trustees- Oakura School

Board of Trustees

All of New Zealand’s state and state-integrated schools have a Board of Trustees. This is the Crown entity responsible for the governance of the school. Its role emphasises strategic leadership rather than administrative detail and ensures that the school complies with legal and policy requirements. As a board we are first and foremost accountable for student achievement. Our children’s growth and learning is at the centre of all that we do. The school’s successes result from an effective and ongoing partnership between the Ministry of Education, the Board, the Principal, the staff, the students, their parents, caregivers and whanau and the wider Oakura community.

There are seven trustees on the Oakura School Board of Trustees. Five are elected parent representatives, one of whom is the Chairperson. Elections are held every three years. There is a staff representative elected by the staff. The School Principal is also a member of the Board of Trustees.

Board meetings are typically held on the third and eighth Wednesday of each school term at 5:30pm in the staffroom. The meetings are open to the public and members of our school community are welcome to attend. If someone is interested in speaking at a BOT meeting they must seek permission the week prior to the meeting so that this can be added to the agenda. Meetings usually cover the key areas of curriculum, finance, property, personnel and policy.

Should you have a matter that you wish to have discussed at Board level, please feel free to contact the Chairperson through the school office or via email at

Oakura School Board of Trustees


Paul Veric

Trustees Members

Grant Aitken
Hayley Bennett
Jodie Orchard
Bianca Ruakere
Nathan Vazey

Acting Principal/Tumuaki

Natasha Jackson

Staff Representative

Ulla Page